PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Japanese-learning panel. Thoughts?

ThePlayboyBunny
02-12-2012, 11:39 PM
Hello all. I'm contemplating doing (hopefully a series) a Japanese language panel. What would go on? The learning of Japanese, of course! I would likely need more than a one-time 1-hour panel though, because with only that much time could I cover basic greetings; time would not allow for reading, writing, grammar, etc.

So, yeah, thought I'd ask now what you guys think about that, what you'd want to see/learn, etc.

I suppose some credentials are in order, for those interested.

1. I have an Associate's Degree in Liberal Arts, with the focus being Asian Languages and Culture. I'm in college now to get my Bachelor's Degree in that same area.
2. When I graduate, I will be a certified high school-level Japanese teacher, so I'm taking teaching courses (and have taught many in the past)
3. I have 2 years (4 courses) of Japanese under my belt, all of which I got an A in, and I will take more in the future. I am not fluent in Japanese, but my accent is, and I could definitely survive on my own.
4. Before I had those classes, I was self-teaching Japanese. I am currently self-teaching Korean
5. I am half-Japanese, if that means anything

Soikham
02-12-2012, 11:47 PM
Stick to teaching conversational Japanese. You can teach them the entire alphabet, numerals, and basic lingo that we learn in Spanish class, but after the panel, they won't know how to say "Hi, my name is ____." This applies to every language, of course.
1. Introductions
2. Daily Conversation
3. Inquiring
4. Goodbyes
5. Dunno if you'll have time for 5.

ThePlayboyBunny
02-12-2012, 11:54 PM
well, here's how I saw it.